The 15-man Proteas squad for the ICC Champions Trophy was announced on Wednesday.  The squad was as to be expected and will be captained by AB de Villers. The only surprise was the inclusion of  left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj who will make his ODI debut.

The squad will play three ODIs against England starting with the first match at Headingley in Leeds on May 24, before their first group match of the ICC Champions Trophy against Sri Lanka at the Oval on June 3.

Proteas ICC Champions Trophy Squad

Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Quinton de Kock – wicketkeeper (Titans), Faf du Plessis (Titans), AB de Villiers – captain (Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), David Miller (Knights), Chris Morris (Titans), Wayne Parnell (Cape Cobras), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (Highveld Lions), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Morne Morkel (Titans)

Proteas’ Champions Trophy Fixtures:

Saturday, June 3 – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval

Wednesday, June 7 – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston

Sunday, June 11 – India v South Africa, The Oval

Wednesday, June 14 – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff

Thursday, June 15 – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston

Sunday, June 18 – Final, The Oval