The final leg of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series takes place this weekend in Los Angeles. There could be extra incentive with the final leg of the series, as the start of the World Cup is creeping into sight, as nations are set to do battle at the start of September. However, which are the teams that could be fighting for success in the men’s event in Los Angeles this weekend?

Men’s Rugby Sevens Series: Los Angeles

Recent Winners

The Los Angeles Sevens hasn’t been competed since 2020, due to the ongoing travel restrictions with COVID-19. The previous time that the event was played, South Africa won the event, as they beat Fiji in the final, while New Zealand finished in third. The USA made home advantage count in the 2019 edition of the event, which was played in Las Vegas. Meanwhile, Samoa finished in second in the US event in 2019, with New Zealand finishing in third.

Event Details

The Pools are set for the event this weekend, with South Africa tasked with a tough group to navigate. They will come up against the USA, Canada and New Zealand. Meanwhile, the leading contenders for the top prize, Australia, have a more favourable group, as they come up against Spain, Argentina and Japan. Fiji, Ireland, France and Wales make up Pool C, while Samoa, England, Scotland and Kenya complete the groups.

All sights could be set on the final on Sunday evening, as that could be the game where South Africa and Australia collide in the Cup Final match. However, both nations will need to win their respective groups in order for that to happen, as they could meet in the semi-finals if one of the nations finishes as the runners-up.

Leading Contenders

It has been a thrilling series in the men’s division throughout the campaign, and the overall winner is set to be crowned in Los Angeles this weekend. South Africa is likely to be the favourites in the BetXchange market, as they are the current leaders with 124 points overall.

However, they will need to bounce back from some disappointing results in recent weeks after failing to finish at least third in the previous four events. South Africa started the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in excellent form with wins in each of the competitions in Dubai, Malaga and Seville.

Australia look to be the only side that could stop South Africa from winning the series this year, as they got within two points of their rivals with victory in the London Sevens last time out. That was the fourth time in five events that the Aussies have finished at least in the top three positions, and they have been quietly been going under the radar throughout the season.

However, the preference is for South Africa, who won the gold when the Los Angeles Sevens was last competed in 2020.

Pick: South Africa at BetXchange.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here