Venue: Senwes Park, Potchefstroom
Date: Thursday, February 4th

The Dolphins will lock horns with the Lions in the Momentum One Day Cup final on Thursday with both teams looking to be crowned champions. This tournament, where most of the matches were rained out, was played in a bio secure-secure environment in Potchefstroom in the North West. The Dolphins qualified for the final on Monday after they overcame the Cape Cobras in the first semi-final. The Lions qualified on Tuesday without facing or bowling a ball after their match against the Knights was abandoned without a ball being bowled due to persistent rain at Senwes Park.

They have a slight advantage over the Lions as they spend time on the crease in their three wicket win over the Cobras on Monday where Robbie Frylinck and Senuran Muthusamy put together a match winning partnership of 112 runs. The partnership between Senuran and Muthusamy lasted for 22 overs with both players registering half centuries as they managed to control their innings and frustrate Cobras bowlers. Frylinck’s well-taken knock of 62 came from 87 balls and it included five boundaries while Muthusamy’s 57 was more subdued coming from 105 balls with five boundaries. With ball in hand, Ottneil Baartman was the pick of their bowlers with 3/5 in five overs while Frylinck picked up a brace of wickets along with spinners Prenelan Subrayen and Muthusamy.

For Lions coach Wandile Gwavu, there is no doubt that he would have liked time on the crease for his players in the semi-final against the Knights to book a place in the final. Their match against the Knights, who are coached by former Proteas fast bowler and coach Allan Donald, was abandoned without a ball being bowled due to rain to deny the players much needed match practice. As a result of the fact that their match was abandoned without a ball being bowled, the Lions progressed to the final by virtue of having ended higher than the Knights on the table.

Best Bets
To lift the trophy, the Dolphins will pin their hopes on key players like Grant Roelofsen, who is currently the second highest scorer in the tournament with 191 runs after three innings, Andile Phehlukwayo, Robbie Frylinck, Senuran Muthusamy, Ottneil Baartman, Prenelan Subrayen and Ruan de Swardt. For the Lions, Dominic Hendricks, Delano Potgieter, Ryan Rickelton and Nicky van den Bergh will take most of the responsibility with the bat at the top of the order while Bjorn Fortuin, Sisanda Magala, Aaron Phangiso, Eldred Hawken and Malusi Siboto will be tasked with taking wickets.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here