There is set to be an exciting competition in the world of golf on the 25th February, as the WGC Championship will take place at The Concession Golf Club in Florida. But, which players could have the best chance of claiming victory in Bradenton?


WGC Championship History & Winners


The WGC Championship has typically taken place in Mexico throughout its 22-year history. However, the current travel restrictions has meant that this year’s event has been moved to Florida. It isn’t the first time that the WGC Championship has taken place in the state, as it took place in Florida for ten years before being moved in Mexico in 2017. However, this will be the first time that it has taken place at the Concession Golf Club. There have been a number of notable winners to win the event throughout its history, with Tiger Woods being the player to have won the WGC Championship the most times. Woods won three straight titles between 2005 ad 2007, and has since added another time in 2013. However, that remains the last time that he won this event.


The WGC Championship has been dominated by American players over the last ten years, with eight American winners. The last four winners of the WGC Championship have also been from the United States. The last non-American winner of the WGC Championship was Adam Scott in 2016. Patrick Reed will be the reigning champion going into this year’s event, as he won the championship 12 months ago by one stroke from Bryson DeChambeau at Chapultepec.


Leading Contenders For WGC Championship


There promises to be a field of high-quality players in Florida for the WGC Championship, which will make the BetXChange market for the event extremely close. However, Dustin Johnson will be among the favourites, as he has been in excellent form this year so far. Furthermore, he holds an esteemed record in this event, as he has won on three previous occasions. Two of his victories in this event have come in the past five years, and he remains the most dominant winner of this event in the last ten years, as he won by five strokes from Rory McIlroy in 2019.


Justin Thomas may also be another player to keep an eye on in this event, as he will be looking to go one better from his effort in 2018. He is yet to win this event, but he finished second behind Phil Mickelson after a playoff three years ago. The leading non-American hopeful for the event could be former number one ranked player Adam Scott. The Australian has been competitive in the WGC Championship, and won the event in 2016.


He has also finished as the runner-up on one further occasion, as he finished behind Tiger Woods in 2006. He has certainly shown some signs of promise this season so far, as he finished in the top ten at the Farmers Insurance Open, and could be a good each-way chance with BetXChange.


Tip: Adam Scott (Each-Way) with BetXChange.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here